Wrestler Karan(Billa) of Punjab lift 2nd Surinsar Kesari Title

Pahalwan Karan (Billa) of Goal Bagh Stadium Amritsar in Punjab Patha Sohan Singh Coach lifts “2nd Annual Surinsar Kesari 2013” Title by defeating Pahalwan Farooq of Sarore in District Samba in a neck to neck bout that lasted for 11 minuets at Surinsar in Block Dansal of Tehsil and District Jammu. Grand Dangal was organized by J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association in collaboration with J&K Tourism Department under the overall supervision of President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association Shiv Kumar Sharma.

MLA Nagrota and President State BJP Shri Jugal Kishore Sharma was the chief guest who distributed cash prizes among the winners and runner-up. Treasurer Indian Style Wrestling Association of India and Member J&K State Sports Council Shiv Kumar Sharma Presided over the function. Senior Vice President Hotel and Restaurant Association Katra and General Sectary State BSP Rakesh Wazir and Chairman Jammu Central Co-operative Bank Mohinder Singh were the guest of honour.WRESTLER KARAN (BILLA) OF PUNJAB LIFTS 2ND SURINSAR KESARI TITLE 2013

Chairman Jammu vikas Pariatan Mandal Ravi Mahajan, President Jammu Hotel and Lodges Association Inderjeet Khajuria, Retd. S.P and Treasurer J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association P.R Sharma, Sarpanch Surinsar Subash Singh, Sarpanch Bajalta Rehmat Ali, Sarpanch Athin Balwant Singh, Sarpanch Chilla Krishan Singh, Sarpanch Pounthal Mohan Singh, Sarpanch Pargalta Girghari Lal, General Secretary J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association Rakesh Khajuria were also present on the occasion.

MLA Jugal Kishore and Rakesh Wazir gave Rs. 3000/- cash prize money along with traditional Silver “Gurj (Gadda) and Patta” to the winner of 1st Malli Wrestler Karan (Billa) Rs. 2000/- was given to runner-up Wrestler Farooq by Shiv Kumar Sharma and P.R Sharma.

In other interesting bouts Arjun of Amritsar beat Fila of Billawar, and Bobari of Sarore beat Tariq of Doda, total 27 bouts were played. This Dangal is organized for last two years.

Speaking on the occasion Mr. Shiv Kumar Sharma express its heartfelt gratitude and thanks to Minister for Tourism and Culture, J&K Gulam Ahmed Mir, commissioner/Secretary Tourism Shri Atul Dullo and Director Tourism Jammu Shri Soujsnys Sharma for granted Rs. 55000/- for this one day wrestling event on the eve of Baisakhi Festival as token money.

J&K Indian Style wrestling Association local committee members and technical officials of this dangal in very fine way were Shiv Kumar Sharma, Inderjeet Khajuria, P.R Sharma, Rakesh Khajuria, Bansi Lal Tidyal, Mulk Raj Sharma, Prem Kumar, Hazi Sak Mohammad, Sudershan Singh Jamwal, Rakesh Sharma, Ratten Singh, Parsotam singh, Bodh Raj Singh and Vijay Singh (Viju).

Mr.Sharma said sports and games inculcate discipline and team spirit among the players, besides helping them to be physically and mentally fit, besides praising the wrestlers for their competitive and sporting spirit. He also announced that our association will hold similar wrestling events in future too. Sharma conveyed greetings to the people on the auspicious occasion of Baiskhi. He said such events are aimed at promoting game of wrestling and other sports events for assuring sound health of the youth.

Check Also


CM approves Rs 193 cr outlay for Jammu, Rs 141 cr for Reasi

Mufti says District Development Boards are mini-legislatures; Vows to strengthen them Describing District Development Boards …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *