Hiranagar-Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency

Unprecedent voter turnout in Udhampur LS seat, 24% hike from last time

 Around 69% electorate cast their vote in today’s polling for Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency, which concluded this evening. This is about 24% more than the polling percentage of last Parliamentary election.

According to an official statement issued, Chief Electoral Officer, Umang Narula said 64.48% votes were cast in Kishtwar, 68.41% in Doda, 63.22% in Ramban,74.84% in Reasi,67.92%in Udhampur, 70.43% in Kathua Districts and figures of exact polling are being received from various other far flung areas of these  districts, which would add up the final poll percentage tally subsequently.


HIRANAGAR  103621 78814  76.06
BILLAWAR  92182 65633  71.20
KATHUA  116728 91374  78.28
BASOHLI  73697 48426  65.82
BANI  38738 25477  65.77
UDHAMPUR  104642 78680  75.19
CHENANI  85131 60025  70.51
RAMNAGAR  105914 69903  66.00
KISHTWAR  75062 49053  65.35
INDERWAL  79312 54923  69.25
DODA  80917 57855  71.50
BHADERWAH  101777 70531  69.30
RAMBAN  83856 56384  67.24
BANIHAL  76016 46749  61.50
GULABGARH  68815 56111  81.54
REASI  108560 85968  79.19
GOOL  60738 46604  76.73

*The estimates are calculated as per the poll percentage reported at 6.00 p.m it is subject to minor changes as EC is still compiling the final figures.

The Chief Electoral Officer said that the constituency was spread over large Geographical area covering six districts for which as many as 2051 polling station at 1798 locations were set up, which included 198 critical/hypersensitive ones. In order to improve the voting experience of the voters 53 model polling stations were established with innovative facilities, Narula said and added that web casting was done on 68 PS and 337 digital and 132 video cameras were deployed.

Narula said that 269 micro observers were also deployed and 2772 EVMs were used in today’s polling. He appreciated the District machinery of Jammu Division for their efforts for synergizing various aspects of election management for ensuring smooth conduct of the electoral process.

The CEO said 13 candidates were in the fray for the constituency which comprised 1468886 numbers of electors including 681206 female and 787680 male voters.


Check Also

lok sabha

Over Rs 1,600 crore spent on relief, rehab of Kashmiri migrants this year

An amount of Rs 1663.92 crore has been incurred on relief and rehabilitation of Kashmiri …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *