Tag Archives: Udhampur

PM Modi dedicated the Udhampur-Katra Railway Line to the Nation

PM dedicating the Udhampur-Katra Railway Line to the Nation. He unveiled the plaque at Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Katra

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday inaugurated the Udhampur-Katra rail link by flagging of the Vaishno Devi Express. Prime Minister Narendra Modi today flagged  off Katra-Udhampur train, the first train from Katra railway  station, facilitating pilgrims to visit Mata Vaishno Devi shrine, located in the Trikuta hills in Reasi  district.The Prime Minister was accompanied by state Chief Minister Omar Abdullah and Railways Minister D V Sadananda Gowda.  

Read More »

Some Amazing photos of Udhampur-Katra rail link

Katra Railway Station

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday inaugurated the Udhampur-Katra rail link by flagging of the Vaishno Devi Express. The 25 km stretch from Udhapmur to Katra has cost Rs 1100 crore and has taken nearly 12 years to be made. The train will pass through 10 tunnels covering a distance of 10.9 km. All tunnels are illuminated and the longer tunnels have been provided state of art ventilation and systems for safety and rescue. The tunnel number 23 is the longest on the section having a length of 3.120 km.

Read More »

Udhampur-Katra line complete, 15 wagon train reaches Katra

Udhampur-Katra train

PM is likely to inaugurate the railway line later this month Ahead of the inauguration of Udhampur -Katra rail section in Jammu and Kashmir, a train on a trial run reached Katra, the base camp of Mata Vaishnodevi shrine. The train from New Delhi on Wednesday reached holy town of Katra ahead of the inauguration of the Udhampur -Katra rail section in the state. Prime Minister Narendra Modi is likely to inaugurate the railway line later this month. Led by General Manager of Northern Railways, Pardeep Kumar Aggarwal and over 300 officials including engineers, train travelled 25 kms from Udhampur Railway Station to Katra town. Photos by Neha

Read More »

Udhampur BJP celebrates Lok Sabha 2014 polls victory

Udhampur BJP celebrates Jitendra Singh Modi victory

BJP activists, on Friday and Saturday, took out rallies in different parts of Udhampur to celebrate the party’s victory in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. BJP swept the polls in Jammu and Ladakh bagging three seats in the state. In Udhampur parliamentary constituency, BJP’s debutant Dr Jitendra Singh defeated Congress party’s high profile candidate and Union Cabinet Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad with a margin of 60,976 votes. While as Dr Singh polled 4,87,369 votes, Azad trailed with 4,26,393. PDP’s Arshid Malik got 30,461 and the National Panthers Party candidate Prof Bhim Singh just 25,312 votes.

Read More »

Voters punished Azad over his silence on Kishtwar riots?


On Friday when counting started in Kathua former Union Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad initially established a clear lead over his rival candidate Dr Jitendra Singh of the BJP.   Till fifth round of counting  Azad was way ahead and his supporters were jubilant. Then suddenly the trends started changing. For some time it was a roller coaster ride for both the candidates. Moments later much to the chagrin of Azad and his poll managers he started trailing behind his rival candidate. Till the last round of the counting Azad could not recover and failed to breach the lead margins of Dr Jitendra Singh. The relevant question which crossed minds of his poll managers was how and where the Congress …

Read More »

BJP’s Jitendra Singh defeated union min Ghulam Nabi Azad

Jitendra Singh defeated Ghulam Nabi Azad-Udhampur

In Udhampur parliamentary constituency, dark horse Dr Jitendra Singh defeated union min Ghulam Nabi Azad by an impressive vote margin of 60976. Here is assembly segment wise vote share:  Assembly Segment BJP Congress Kishtwar 18726 22484 Inderwal 11196 39351 Doda 18176 35914 Bhaderwah 21597 44783 Ramban 23164 26106 Banihal 5514 32836 Gulabgarh 7664 37332 Reasi 43143 34262 Gool Arnas 8832 29016  Udhampur 49623 19429 Chenani 34336 14912 Ramnagar 33588 18407 Bani 12813 10396 Basohli 36169 8518 Kathua 63186 18021 Billawar 42526 18076 Hiranagar 56567 16491  Total  487369  426393

Read More »

Train service for Katra to be launched soon

Katra Railway Station

The long-awaited train service to Katra, the base camp of Vaishno Devi shrine, in Jammu and Kashmir will soon be a reality as railways is gearing up to make the 25-km-long Udhampur-Katra rail line operational shortly. The train service for Katra will be launched soon as the line is ready now, the new Railway Member (Engineering) VK Gupta said  today. Gupta, who was Northern Railway General Manager, succeeded SK Jain, who superannuated from railway services on April 30. Asked whether the Udhampur-Katra line has got safety clearance from Commissioner Railway Safety (CRS), Gupta said there were some issues which had been addressed and “we are expecting clearance any moment now”. Once the line becomes operational, it will enable pilgrims to …

Read More »

Azad locked in close contest, Kaun Banega MP?

Azad-Udhampur Votes

In a close fight between Union Health and Family Welfare Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad and Dr Jitendra Singh the question every one was asking on Friday Kaun banega MP? High voter turnout and pattern of voting in two different regions has made the job of poll pundits more difficult. It is going to be a very close call for both the rival candidates, claim majority of poll pundits.    For some who see Union Health Minister a more formidable candidate in comparison to Dr JItendra Singh of BJP the high voter turn out in five assembly segments of Kathua is a cause of concern.    The mood of electorate in the region was against incumbent Congress led UPA government and the overall …

Read More »

Unprecedent voter turnout in Udhampur LS seat, 24% hike from last time

Hiranagar-Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency

 Around 69% electorate cast their vote in today’s polling for Udhampur Parliamentary Constituency, which concluded this evening. This is about 24% more than the polling percentage of last Parliamentary election. According to an official statement issued, Chief Electoral Officer, Umang Narula said 64.48% votes were cast in Kishtwar, 68.41% in Doda, 63.22% in Ramban,74.84% in Reasi,67.92%in Udhampur, 70.43% in Kathua Districts and figures of exact polling are being received from various other far flung areas of these  districts, which would add up the final poll percentage tally subsequently.   NAME OF THE CONSTITUENCY TOTAL VOTES TOTAL VOTES POLLED POLL PERCENTAGE HIRANAGAR  103621 78814  76.06 BILLAWAR  92182 65633  71.20 KATHUA  116728 91374  78.28 BASOHLI  73697 48426  65.82 BANI  38738 25477  65.77 …

Read More »

Udhampur LS Seat: Hiranagar celebrates festival of Indian democracy

Hiranagar-Kathua-Udhampur Elections

Hiranagar town of Kathua district that falls under the Udhampur Parliamentary constituency in Jammu and Kashmir celebrated Festival of Indian democracy on Thursday by coming out in huge numbers. This is the same town where few weeks back BJP Prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi hold a public rally. Pics provided by Archana Rajput

Read More »