Srinagar lok sabha

Srinagar Lok Sabha seat goes to poll tomorrow

Poll hours reduced by one hour for Srinagar and Baramullah seat


 Amidst tight security measures, Srinagar Lok Sabha seat will go to the poll tomorrow to decide the fate of 12 candidates, including NC President Farooq Abdullah and PDP leader Tariq Hameed Karra.

Srinagar Parliamentary constituency is spread over three districts of Srinagar, Budgam and Ganderbal.

Abdullah, whose National Conference has won the seat every time barring 1971 and 1996 when it did not contest the polls, is seeking re-election from the constituency.

The Union Minister is pitted against 11 others, the most formidable among them being former state Finance Minister Karra.

The Srinagar Lok Sabha seat has 12.31 lakh voters including 5.72 lakh women who are eligible to cast their votes at 1546 polling stations.

Poll hours has been reduced by one hour in Srinagar Parliamentary constituency going to polls tomorrow and Baramulla seat, where polling will be held on May 7.

According to a notification issued by the Election Commission of India, poll hours for Srinagar and Baramulla Parliamentary Constituencies, have been fixed from 0700 hrs to 1700 hrs.

Though no reason was given for reducing the polling hours, it is believed that the step has been taken in view of the threat perception.

Check Also

Omar abdullah-twitter

India’s Role in Resolving Kashmir Issue Will Continue: Omar Abdullah

With the US distancing itself on Kashmir issue, former Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Omar …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *