Jammu Kashmir elections 2014-PDP-BJP-National Conference-Congress

Polling for 1st phase in 15 constituencies in J&K tomorrow

Amidst militant groups’ poll boycott call in Jammu and Kashmir, the stage was set for the first of staggered assembly elections in J&K tomorrow.

The first phase will cover 15 seats in J&K, where 12 sitting MLAs, including seven ministers, are among 123 candidates are trying their luck.

Omar Abdullah- led National Conference (NC) is fighting against main opposition PDP, BJP and Congress in a multi-cornered contest.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP’s star campaigner, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi and vice president Rahul Gandhi and Omar spearheaded the campaign in the run up to the first phase of polling.

While Modi asked voters to opt for a change of guard in both the states by seeking an end to dynastic rule, the Gandhis had accused BJP of a divisive agenda and making false promises of inclusive development.

Intelligence agencies also intercepted conversations of leaders of Pakistan-based militant groups Hizbul Mujahideen and Jaish-e-Mohammad with local commanders in J&K asking them to ensure boycott of coming assembly elections.

The separatist groups like all factions of Hurriyat Conference and JKLF have called for a boycott of the polls tomorrow and called for a general strike as well.

While six constituencies in Jammu division will vote to elect their representatives, the electorate in five segments in Kashmir and four in Ladakh will seal the fate of the aspirants in the polling that is scheduled to begin at 8 AM.

The assembly segments going to polls tomorrow include Kishtwar, Inderwal, Doda, Bhaderwah, Ramban and Banihal (in Jammu division); Gurez, Bandipora, Sonawari, Kangan and Ganderbal (in Kashmir), Nobra, Leh, Kargil and Zanskar (in Ladakh).

A total of 10,502,50 voters, including 5,49,698 males and 5,00,539 females, besides 13 transgenders are eligible to exercise their right to franchise in the first phase of the polls in J&K.

Bhaderwah has the largest number of 1,04,354 voters among the 15 constituencies, while Nobra constituency in Ladakh region has the lowest with 13,054 voters.

Seven ministers are seeking re-election in the first phase – Nazir Ahmad Khan Gurezi (from Gurez), Mohammad Akbar Lone (Sonawari), Mian Altaf (Kangan), Sajad Kichloo (Kishtwar), Abdul Majid Wani (Doda), Nawang Rigzin Joa (Leh) and Vikar Rasool Wani (Banihal).

Besides the ministers who are all sitting MLAs, five legislators will be seeking a re-election in the first phase of polls. They are PDP’s Nizamudding Bhat (Bandipora), Congress candidates Ghulam Mohammad Saroori (Inderwal), Sharief Niaz (Bhaderwah), Ashok Kumar (Ramban) and National Conference’s Tsetan Namgyal (Nobra) are the sitting MLAs seeking another term.

Check Also

lok sabha

Over Rs 1,600 crore spent on relief, rehab of Kashmiri migrants this year

An amount of Rs 1663.92 crore has been incurred on relief and rehabilitation of Kashmiri …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *